The National Committee is comprised of students from around Australia who promote NASC at their respective institutions.

2019 National Committee Members:

Angela Gurr: PhD Candidate: Biological Anthropology & Comparative Anatomy Research Unit, The University of Adelaide Medical School.

After graduating from Flinders University Angela pursued her interest in bioarchaeology and anatomy. She completed her honours year at the Department of Anatomy and Pathology, University of Adelaide. Angela’s research project investigated nutritional deficiency indicators on the skeletal remains of the early European settlers buried in the unmarked ‘free ground’ area of St Mary’s Cemetery, South Australia, using macroscopic and Micro-CT methods. Angela is currently expanding on her honours research as a PhD candidate, developing a non-destructive method to study health status in childhood recorded in dentine. Angela’s interests include: Paleopathology, Dental Anthropology and Archaeology, especially deviant burials, executions, cemetery analysis, pre-1950 battlefield archaeology and European rock art

Donna Francis: Honours Student: Department of Classics, Archaeology and Ancient History, The University of Adelaide.

Donna is currently studying honours in classics at the University of Adelaide and is also studying a Graduate Certificate of Arts in Latin at the University of New England. Donna's current research is on the Early Christian art transmission into the Church. In 2020, Donna will begin a PhD in Archaeology at Flinders University where she will continue her research on Late Antiquity archaeology.

Nicholas Turvey: University of Sydney

Nicholas is a second-year student at the University of Sydney, studying a Bachelor of Arts with majors in archaeology and biology. He has an interest in all areas of archaeology, though he has a particular interest in studying surveying and archaeozoology. He is the secretary of the Sydney University Archaeology Society.

Katherine Dunn: Australian National University

Katherine Dunn is an Honours year student currently researching turnover in petrous bones to determine their suitability for strontium isotope studies in cremated contexts where often dental enamel does not survive. Katherine’s research uses bomb-curve radiocarbon analysis to assess turnover in modern samples and then applying strontium isotope analysis to petrous bones from a Chalcolithic ditch enclosure site in Portugal to assess mobility. Katherine is also speaking at and volunteering at the EAA Conference in Bern this year, and is excited to be part of a student conference where she can use her skills and time to contribute to its success, and provide many other keen students an opportunity to talk about their research.

Felicity Smolenaers: La Trobe University

Felicity Smolenaers has always had a passion for Archaeology and Ancient History that spans 21 years. In between graduating from high school and finally ending up at La Trobe University she has spent extensive time traveling to many sites around the world including Egypt, China, UK, and Italy to explore their cultural and archaeological history.